โœ๏ธWriting & Content58๐ŸŽจImage Generation71๐ŸŽฌVideo & Animation120๐ŸŽตAudio & Music100๐Ÿ’ฌChatbots & Assistants109๐Ÿ’ปCoding & Development444๐Ÿ“ˆMarketing & SEO197โšกProductivity401๐ŸŽฏDesign & UI/UX120๐Ÿ“ŠData & Analytics126๐Ÿ“šEducation & Research55๐Ÿ’ผBusiness & Finance174๐ŸฅHealthcare & Wellness22๐Ÿ”Search & Knowledge20๐Ÿค–AI Agent Infrastructure208๐Ÿ›ก๏ธAI Security & Testing32๐ŸงŠ3D & Spatial22๐Ÿ”ŽSEO Tools113๐ŸกReal Estate7๐Ÿ—ƒ๏ธData Extraction104๐Ÿง ADHD & Focus Tools11๐Ÿ”ฌResearch & Academia45๐ŸงฉLLM APIs & Models34โš™๏ธAutomation & Workflows45๐Ÿ”Security & Privacy31๐Ÿ“ŠAnalytics & BI55โš–๏ธLegal & Contracts14
Notebooks & GPUFree ToolsUpdated September 2026

Best Free Google Colab Alternatives in 2026

Colab's free tier is generous and completely unspecified: no published GPU quota, no promised card, no guarantee the session survives the next hour. These 5 alternatives are compared on the allowance each vendor actually puts in writing.

โœ“ 5 platforms comparedโœ“ Every free number read from the vendor's own page on 2026-09-28โœ“ Where a vendor publishes no quota, we say so instead of guessing

Quick Answer

The best free Colab alternative depends on which part of the free tier is failing you:

  • You never know how much GPU you get: Kaggle โ€” 30 hours a week, published
  • The free GPU is too weak: Hugging Face Spaces โ€” free ZeroGPU, up to 96 GB VRAM
  • You want to choose how to spend the allowance: Modal โ€” $30/month of compute on the free plan
  • You are two people in one notebook: Deepnote
  • The session keeps dying mid-run: Vast.ai โ€” paid, but nothing reclaims the machine
  • You were about to buy Colab Pro: it is $9.99/mo, and Hugging Face PRO is $9/mo

For makersBuilt a free Google Colab alternative? This is the page people read looking for one.

I built one โ€” list it โ†’

Want the full side-by-side, including paid options?

What Colab's Free Tier Actually Gives You

Colab's paid tiers are published plainly: Colab Pro is $9.99/month and Pro+ is $49.99/month (read from Google's own signup page on 2026-09-28). The free tier is the part nobody can quote, because Google does not state it. There is no published quota, no committed GPU model, and no guaranteed session length โ€” the free tier is explicitly best-effort spare capacity, allocated and reclaimed at Google's discretion.

In practice that is still a lot of free compute, and on raw generosity Colab is hard to beat. The problem is that you cannot plan against it. A run that finished in 40 minutes yesterday may not get a GPU at all today, and the only remedy Google offers is the $9.99 upgrade. Every alternative below is here because it fixes one specific part of that: it tells you the number, it gives you a better card, it lets you spend the allowance how you want, or it stops reclaiming the machine.

One thing to rule out first: if your complaint is simply volume, Kaggle's 30 hours a week may be less than Colab quietly gives you on a good week. The reason to move is predictability, not more.

Top 5 Free Google Colab Alternatives

1

Kaggle

Best Published Quota

The only platform here that publishes its free GPU quota as a number โ€” 30 hours a week

Free tier: Free P100 GPU, quota of 30 hours per week, resetting weeklyยท Paid from No paid tier โ€” Kaggle is free at every level
Session limits: 60-minute idle timeout on interactive sessions; batch (commit) sessions run top-to-bottom

Best for: Anyone who was on Colab free and needs to know in advance how much GPU time they actually get

โœ“ Strengths

  • โ€ขKaggle's own docs state the quota in writing: "You can use up to a quota limit per week of GPU. The quota resets weekly and is 30 hours or sometimes higher depending on demand" โ€” Colab's free tier states no quota anywhere
  • โ€ขSame Jupyter interface, same pre-installed ML stack, so a Colab notebook usually runs unchanged
  • โ€ขFree TPU quota on top of the GPU quota, which on Colab is a Pro-tier consideration
  • โ€ขNo paid upsell at all โ€” there is no Kaggle Pro to be nudged toward mid-session
  • โ€ขDatasets and public notebooks are first-class, so you are not mounting Drive to get data in

โœ— Limitations

  • โ€ขP100 is an older card than the T4 Colab free often hands out and much slower than anything on Colab Pro
  • โ€ข30 hours a week is a ceiling, not a guarantee โ€” heavy weeks end with the GPU switched off
  • โ€ขNotebooks are public by default unless you set them private, which surprises people moving private Colab work across
  • โ€ขNo custom machine types: you take the instance Kaggle gives you

Free tier read from www.kaggle.com/docs/efficient-gpu-usage on 2026-09-28.

2

Hugging Face Spaces

Strongest Free GPU

Free ZeroGPU on an RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell โ€” the strongest free accelerator on this page

Free tier: CPU Basic (2 vCPU, 16 GB) free, and ZeroGPU free on Nvidia RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell up to 96 GB VRAMยท Paid from $9/mo PRO
Session limits: ZeroGPU is dynamically allocated โ€” you get the GPU for a burst, not for a held session

Best for: Running or demoing a model rather than training one over hours

โœ“ Strengths

  • โ€ขThe free accelerator is a current-generation card with up to 96 GB of VRAM, which is more memory than Colab Pro's paid tiers give you
  • โ€ขHugging Face publishes the whole hardware price table openly, so the free row is checkable rather than inferred
  • โ€ขYour Space stays up at a URL โ€” Colab notebooks die with the session and cannot serve anything
  • โ€ขPRO at $9/mo is cheaper than Colab Pro at $9.99/mo and buys queue priority rather than a single machine
  • โ€ขCommunity GPU grants exist for side projects, which has no Colab equivalent

โœ— Limitations

  • โ€ขZeroGPU is burst allocation โ€” it is the wrong shape for a training loop that needs eight uninterrupted hours
  • โ€ขSpaces are an app-hosting abstraction, not a notebook; moving a .ipynb across is real work
  • โ€ขDedicated GPU hardware is hourly and starts at $0.40/hr for a T4, so "free" stops the moment you need a held card
  • โ€ขFree Spaces sleep when idle and cold-start on the next visit

Free tier read from huggingface.co/pricing on 2026-09-28.

3

Modal

Best Free Credit

$30 of compute credit every month on the free plan, spendable on any GPU they offer

Free tier: Starter plan $0/month with $30/month of included computeยท Paid from $250/mo Team (includes $100/month compute)
Session limits: Serverless โ€” you are billed per second of actual compute, with 10 concurrent GPUs and 100 containers on Starter

Best for: Batch jobs and fine-tuning runs where you want a modern GPU and can live with a monthly budget instead of a clock

โœ“ Strengths

  • โ€ข$30/month of credit is the only free allowance here denominated in money, so you choose whether to spend it on 180 hours of T4 or 12 hours of H100
  • โ€ขPer-second billing with no charge for idle time โ€” a Colab session bills you attention, not money, and wastes both
  • โ€ขPublished per-second rates for every card including B200 and H200, so the credit converts to a known number of hours
  • โ€ขCode runs as a Python script with decorators, which is more reproducible than a notebook that depends on cell order
  • โ€ข1 TiB/month of volume storage included free

โœ— Limitations

  • โ€ขNot a notebook at all โ€” if the appeal of Colab is the cell-by-cell loop, this is a different way of working
  • โ€ข$30 at $0.001097/sec for an H100 SXM5 is about 7.6 hours, which a single serious training run will eat
  • โ€ขThe next tier up is $250/month, a steep step from free compared with Colab Pro's $9.99
  • โ€ข1-day log retention on Starter makes debugging a failed overnight job harder

Free tier read from modal.com/pricing on 2026-09-28.

4

Deepnote

Best for Collaboration

The collaborative notebook โ€” real-time editing, which is where Colab is weakest

Free tier: Free plan for individual projectsยท Paid from $39/mo Team
Session limits: Machine hours are plan-dependent; Deepnote does not publish a free GPU quota

Best for: Notebook work that two or more people edit together, where Colab's comment-and-refresh model breaks down

โœ“ Strengths

  • โ€ขReal-time multiplayer editing in the notebook itself, which Colab still does not do properly
  • โ€ขSQL cells and native warehouse connections, so a data pull does not have to be Python
  • โ€ขScheduled notebook runs on paid plans replace the "leave the tab open" pattern Colab forces
  • โ€ขVersion history is built in rather than depending on you remembering to save to Drive
  • โ€ขInterface is closer to a modern IDE than to a 2017 Jupyter clone

โœ— Limitations

  • โ€ขDeepnote does not state a free GPU allowance in writing, so we are not stating one for it โ€” treat the free plan as CPU unless you check
  • โ€ข$39/mo Team is 3.9x Colab Pro at $9.99/mo and is billed per seat
  • โ€ขPositioned at data teams, not at people training models, so the GPU story is thinner throughout
  • โ€ขFree plan is a genuine evaluation tier rather than a working allowance

Free tier read from deepnote.com/pricing on 2026-09-28.

5

Vast.ai

No Session Limits

No free tier at all โ€” the honest option when the free hour is the thing that is failing you

Free tier: None. Vast.ai is a rented-GPU marketplace and charges from the first secondยท Paid from Hourly, set by whichever host you rent from
Session limits: You hold the machine for as long as you pay for it โ€” no idle timeout, no weekly quota, no preemption by the platform

Best for: The run that free tiers keep killing: a long fine-tune that has to survive overnight

โœ“ Strengths

  • โ€ขThe one limitation shared by every free tier on this page โ€” your session can be taken away โ€” does not exist here
  • โ€ขMarketplace pricing is usually the cheapest per GPU-hour available anywhere, because you are renting other people's idle hardware
  • โ€ขYou pick the exact card, so a run that needs 80 GB of VRAM gets 80 GB of VRAM
  • โ€ขNo quota to plan around and no queue to wait in

โœ— Limitations

  • โ€ขIt costs money from minute one โ€” if you came here for free, this is not it
  • โ€ขHost quality varies across a marketplace; a cheap instance can have slow disk or poor network
  • โ€ขYou are responsible for the environment โ€” no pre-installed ML stack handed to you
  • โ€ขโš ๏ธ Vast's API caps a page at 64 results, so tooling built against it silently under-reads the market

Free tier read from vast.ai/pricing on 2026-09-28.

Built a free Google Colab alternative? This is the page people read looking for one.

Add it to the AI data science category โ€” a free listing publishes after review, and it is the same page ChatGPT, Perplexity and Google read when someone asks for AI data science tools. Want it live in minutes with a Verified badge instead? That option is on the form, one-time, no subscription.

Colab vs Free Alternatives: What Actually Differs

FeatureGoogle ColabBest AlternativeNotes
Free GPU allowance stated in writingNo โ€” free tier publishes no quotaKaggle30 hours/week, in Kaggle's own docs
Strongest free acceleratorWhatever is spare, usually a T4Hugging Face SpacesZeroGPU on RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell, up to 96 GB
First paid tierColab Pro $9.99/moHugging Face PRO $9/moColab Pro+ is $49.99/mo
Session can be revoked mid-runYes โ€” free sessions are preemptibleVast.aiThe only one here that cannot take the machine back
Free allowance in money, not hoursNoModal$30/month of compute on the $0 plan
Runs a Colab notebook unchangedโ€”KaggleModal and HF Spaces are not notebooks

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Google Colab free?

Yes, and deliberately vaguely so. The free tier gives best-effort access to spare GPU capacity with no published quota, no committed GPU model, and no guaranteed session length. The paid tiers are specific: Colab Pro at $9.99/month and Pro+ at $49.99/month, both read from Google's signup page on 2026-09-28.

What is the best free Google Colab alternative?

Kaggle, if the problem is that you cannot plan around Colab's free tier โ€” Kaggle's docs state a 30-hour weekly GPU quota on P100s that resets every week. Hugging Face Spaces if the problem is that the free GPU is too weak, because its free ZeroGPU tier runs on an RTX Pro 6000 Blackwell with up to 96 GB of VRAM.

Which free notebook platform gives the most GPU hours?

Kaggle is the only one that publishes a number: 30 hours per week, sometimes higher depending on demand. Modal is the only one that gives you an allowance in money instead โ€” $30 of compute per month on the free Starter plan, which at its published $0.000164/sec T4 rate is roughly 50 hours of T4 time. Colab may exceed both on a good week, but will not tell you in advance.

Is Colab Pro worth it, or should I switch?

Colab Pro is $9.99/month and buys faster GPUs plus longer sessions. Hugging Face PRO is $9/month and buys a stronger free-tier accelerator and queue priority on Spaces. If the reason you were upgrading is that free sessions keep dying mid-run, neither fixes it properly โ€” a rented instance on Vast.ai is the only option here that cannot be reclaimed by the platform.

Can I run my Colab notebook somewhere else unchanged?

On Kaggle, usually yes โ€” same Jupyter interface and a similar pre-installed ML stack. Deepnote will import it but the environment differs. Modal and Hugging Face Spaces are not notebook platforms at all: Modal runs decorated Python functions and Spaces hosts an app, so moving to either is a rewrite rather than an upload.

Related Reading

Compare All AI Notebook & GPU Tools

Browse notebook platforms and GPU clouds with free tiers, pricing, and head-to-head comparisons.

Affiliate disclosure: Some links on this page are affiliate links. If you sign up through them, AISO Tools may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This never affects our rankings or reviews.

๐Ÿ“ฌ Get the best new AI tools delivered weekly

One concise email with fresh launches, trending picks, and featured standouts.

Join thousands of professionals who discover the best AI tools every week. No spam โ€” unsubscribe anytime.